Buch Monastery is situated in an idyllic spot on a bend in the Freiberger Mulde River, not far from the cycle path that runs along the river. Its historic buildings and beautifully landscaped herb gardens attract thousands of visitors every year. Its history can be traced back to 1192, when Cistercians first moved into the monastery. The religious order remained there for 330 years. The monastery was closed down over the course of the Reformation and was then used as an agricultural business until 1994.
Visitors can now immerse themselves in the history of the Cistercians as they explore the chapter house, chapel and monastery wall, make their own scrolls and try their hand at producing and designing paper. The annual monastery and harvest festival in September and the monthly farmer’s markets are the perfect attractions for anyone who loves culture and cuisine.
Benefits with the schloesserlandCARD
| Free admission to the permanent exhibition |
| Free admission to the special exhibition |
| Free admission to the park |
Arrival & map
Next City: Döbeln (12 km)
A14 exit Leisnig, local connection road from Leisnig or Minkwitz or A14 exit Döbeln-Nord via Großweitzschen and Scheergrund.
Please use the parking spaces outside the monastery grounds.
Leipzig-Döbeln line, travel to Leisnig station or Klosterbuch stop. From Leisnig it is then 3.5 km or from the station Klosterbuch 1.5 km walk
The Mulde cycle path leads directly past the Klosterbuch monastery.
Numerous signposted hiking trails from the direction of Döbeln and Leisnig.
Klosterbuch 1 | 04703 Leisnig
Property of State Palaces, Castles and Gardens of Saxony, non profit
More information available at:
Opening hours and admission prices
Closed opens on
Further information on opening hours and admission prices can be found here