From the Mulde River valley, there are walls that seem to grow directly from the steep rock spur precipices straight into the sky - a castle floating in the clouds. Wolkenburg Castle - how else could it be called - was mainly influenced by the Von Einsiedel family, who has been in possession of the castle since 1635. Under their rule, the original castle was converted into a Renaissance and Baroque castle. In 1790, Detlev Carl Count von Einsiedel had the main building redesigned in classicist style. Even today, the banquet hall with its stucco reliefs on the walls as well as the cast-iron figurines that can be admired in both the castleand the park recall the lifetime of the count. The count's library is another architectural gem: a two-storied, pavilion-like room of a circular floor plan was installed into the attic of the castle’s main building in 1795. Neo-Gothic tracery, decorating the cast-iron balustrades, the wall decorations and the built-in cabinets, reminds of Venetian palazzi.
After its thorough restauration, the library now appears in its vigor of 200 years ago again. Further former residential rooms accomodate topical museum chambers dedicated to the Counts von Einsiedel and the Wolkenburg-born painter Fritz von Uhde. The castle courtyard and the terraced castle garden lend open-air events a romantic and atmospheric ambience.
Benefits with the schloesserlandCARD
| Free admission to the permanent exhibition |
| Reduced rates apply to enter special exhibition |
| Free admission to the park |
Arrival & map
Next City: Chemnitz (20 km)
Schloss 3 | 09212 Limbach-Oberfrohna
+49 37609 58170
More information available at:
Opening hours and admission prices
Closed opens on
- Free entry
Further information on opening hours and admission prices can be found here